I decided to create this blog yesterday afternoon so pardon my lack of pictures and information on our meals. My husband took over baby duty in the morning and let me sleep in so we only ate twice anyway.

First of all, I’m not a recipe follower. The way I decide what I’m eating is very complex. First, I open the fridge. Then, I see if anything needs to be consumed so I’m not wasting anything. It’s winter so I roast something almost every day. I recently learned that I’m a kapha dosha (more info on that here) so I try to incorporate something to balance myself in that aspect. Usually that involves using particular spices like turmeric, cayenne, ginger, etc. Anyway, you’ll find that most of my recipe creations are ridiculously basic and will probably be similar to each other. So, here we go!

Breakfast РVanilla Soy Quinoa 

  • 1/2 cup prepared quinoa
  • 1/4 cup Silk vanilla soymilk (Matt’s favorite)
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 tablespoons chopped walnuts

Combine ingredients. Eat. :)

This is such a basic breakfast! I love quinoa and use it in both sweet and savory dishes. Did you know a cup of cooked quinoa has over 8 grams of protein!? Amazing.

Sorry there’s no picture for this one. Like I said earlier, I didn’t decide to start this blog until after breakfast.

Since it was New Years Day, we had to have sauerkraut! I’m not very into any potato that isn’t a sweet potato (my Irish ancestors are probably cursing me right now) so when I make a mash it’s always with sweet potatoes, parsnips, and carrots. Why parsnips and carrots? Because they are delicious, duh.

Dinner – Baby Kale Salad with Raw Honey Mustard Lime Dressing, Roasted Rosemary Baby Bella Mushrooms and Brussel Sprouts, Sweet Potato Mash with Sauerkraut, and Chocolate Coconut Milk Mousse

Raw Honey Mustard Lime Dressing

Honey Mustard Lime Dressing

  • 2 limes, juice only
  • 1/4 cup stone ground mustard
  • 2 tablespoons honey

Combine ingredients and use within 3 days. I wish I could find where I got this recipe from so I could link to it so I apologize to the author of this recipe. I also applaud them because it’s really tasty!

Roasted Rosemary Baby Bella Mushrooms and Brussel Sprouts

  • 8 ounces whole Baby Bella mushrooms
  • 1 pound quartered brussel sprouts
  • 1 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1 teaspoon parsley
  • 1/8 cup chopped walnuts
  • olive oil
  • Himalayan sea salt
  • black pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large baking pan/ baking sheet (I used an 8 X 13 cake pan lined with foil for easy clean-up), toss your washed mushrooms and brussel sprouts in olive oil (I use approx. 3 tablespoons) and herbs. Bake for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, pull out your veggies and sprinkle with walnuts, sea salt, and black pepper. I add salt and pepper at this point because I like to taste test after the vegetables are almost done. Return the pan to the oven for 5-10 minutes.

Sweet Potato Mash with Sauerkraut

 

  • 1 large whole carrot
  • 1 medium parsnip
  • 1 medium sweet potato
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 3 teaspoons whipped Earth Balance
  • Himalayan sea salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 can/bag of sauerkraut

Open can of sauerkraut and place in small saucepan over low heat (or heat it in whatever manner you want- I’m sure you can microwave it if you like). Peel carrot, parsnip, sweet potato, and garlic and cut into thumb size pieces (if you have normal thumbs, I use 3 of my thumbs). Place in medium saucepan, fill with water covering the root vegetables by approx. an inch. Boil until fork tender. Drain, add Earth Balance, and mash. Add salt and pepper to taste. Top with sauerkraut.

Chocolate Coconut Milk Mousse

For dessert, I used this recipe from the best vegan dessert blogger ever Chocolate Covered Katie.

 

 

Overall, I think it was a pretty healthy and yummy dinner. Matt approved.